Countdown to Disney: 40 Weeks?

20160412_074620.jpg

Activities for Week 40

Date Selection

In Week 47, I discuss in depth how I go about this process. So, if the below image doesn’t make sense, take a look at that first (also feel free to leave questions below).

Seven Options

WDW Prep School has released their crowd calendars for the early part of 2016. Now, they list low crowds for January 17th to February 2nd. However, earlier in the month they have it varying from low to heavy, with a lot of it being in the moderate zone.

This is actually super helpful. My first three scenarios based upon the Touring Plans crowd calendar are all during this time of fluctuating and potential heavy crowds, according to the WDW Prep calendar. The calendars, of course, are only educated guesses based on history, school calendars, events, etc… I don’t expect either of them to be perfectly accurate, so who knows who is correct for this period of time.

However, they both AGREE with my Options 4 through 7 as being the lowest crowds around that time of year. Therefore, we can safely kick out Options 1, 2 and 3.

Four Options

I made up a little table to represent my view of the remaining four:

final options

I scored the park arrangement on a scale of 1 to 3….1 point for okay, 2 for good, 3 for great. We had two average crowd scores…4.125 and 4.25. The 4.125 got 2 points, the others 1 point. I looked at the highest predicted experienced crowd level (so they highest we’d personally encounter) and assigned 1 or 2 points based on the answer (6 vs. 8). In the end, the results were pretty clear…Option #6 is my favorite option. My days at the Magic Kingdom are spread out, but it is my last day. All the other parks are nicely spread out (so if we get a string of bad weather, an illness, etc…). It has the lowest predicted average crowd levels for our likely schedule. And the maximum crowd level experienced is 6.

This means next week will also be week 40! My countdown was just an estimate, and now it’ll need to be updated.

 

Binder Updates

More section headings, this time for the Magic Kingdom! I found the fonts here: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/235735361721118394/

Upcoming Master To Do List

  • Watch a movie (someday, someday)
  • Purchase another guidebook with an Amazon gift card I’ve saved since Christmas (I’ve decided which one, but just haven’t ordered it yet)
  • Try a new recipe
  • Pick a dates option
  • See if there are any section headers I’m missing

Movie Updates

Still at 1 of 26…..

Resource of the Week

The WDW Radio podcast is pretty fun to listen to. Lou is very upbeat and obsessed with food.

WDW Virtual Visit

I didn’t get a chance to watch any this week. My week has been a bit hectic because of travel plans.

Question for the Readers

What are you strategies for avoiding crowds in Disney?

One thought on “Countdown to Disney: 40 Weeks?

Leave a Reply

