Captain EO’s Final Performance; Animation Experience to Replace it

It was announced on the Disney Parks Blog that a new attraction will take the place of Captain EO. From the description, it appear like the initial waiting area may have a presentation that will “look into the visionary minds behind some of the world’s most iconic animated films today”, and then the theater will contain a “4D” experience (3D plus some physical effects such as smell, blasts of air, etc…) consisting of three short Disney films.

Captain EO’s last performance will be December 6th.

I’m glad we got to see Captain EO before it disappears (again), but I’m glad to see the Imagination Pavilion receive some much needed attention, and I like the animation-focused attention this is going toward.

No word on when the new attraction will open.

One thought on “Captain EO’s Final Performance; Animation Experience to Replace it

  1. Wow, I’m glad we got to ride it recently! I was actually surprised they reopened it after doing the movie previews in that same space. Tommy & I have recently become obsessed with reading about Disney (after our honeymoon no less) and we’re excited about the potential for new energy into the imagination pavilion! After reading the history of that pavilion (and the sad job they’ve done with Journey) I’m hoping they can do a better job. I wish I remembered Honey I Shrunk the Audience better =P

    Like

Leave a Reply

