Dragon Age Origins: Part 4

Caution: Spoilers Ahead! Since DAO was released in 2009, if you wanted to play , you likely already have. However, I will be doing a play by play of the game, so if you haven’t played and want to, and care about spoilers, skip this post.

For Part One of the story, go here: https://catnerd.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/dragon-age-origins-part-1/

I’m still catching up on the chunk of the story with the lost screenshots, after I am caught up (this post?). I will start keeping better track of my screenshots, taking more of my own shots, and posting them as soon as possible after I play them. We’re going to be missing a lot of detail here because a) lost screen shots, and b) it has been awhile since I played as I was waiting until I had some free time to get all the screenshots sorted.

When we left off last we discovered that the Arl’s son, Connor, had been possessed by a demon.

Aedan_320

Connor made Lord Teagan (the Arl’s brother, a good guy) fight us. While we won the battle, he managed not to die (he was very lucky).

Aedan_570

I decided that we needed outside help to deal with Connor…we needed to seek out the assistance of the Circle of Magi. We could have tried to handle it then, but I didn’t want to put my people in unnecessary danger.

I need to take screenshots of the camping, because those are my favorite times. The auto-system doesn’t get enough camp shots. Anyway, Alistair and I bonded over our mutual Grey-Warden induced nightmares. Apparently, they aren’t actually nightmares, but visions from the Darkspawn.

Aedan_270

The Blood Mage we found in the basement could have assisted…but he had poisoned the Arl. Even if it was under the orders of another, I still didn’t trust him.

Unfortunately, the Circle of the Magi Tower was a mess. Something about Blood Mages running a muck and releasing things they couldn’t handle. The Templar were getting ready to nuke the place. But the people who could best help us were inside, and I have a thing for rescuing people…so off we go into certain death to save some people we don’t really know so we can save that kid that I think is Alistairs half-brother or something but whom I also don’t really know from certain death. Whew.

Aedan_272

This guy told us about a magical item…a litany of some sort…that will help against Blood Magic. OH…and the older woman in the photos…that is Wynne, she’s a magi who wanted to help, and since she knows about this place, magic, and can heal people (unlike Morrigan), I readily agreed. I like making friends.

Aedan_273

We encountered a powerful sloth demon in the tour who sent us into the fade.

Aedan_274

In the fade, I encountered a demon disguised as Duncan (the man who helped me escape the attack on my home, and made me a Grey Warden. Demon Duncan tried to convince me that everything was fine, and we had won, and that there were no more Darkspawn. I didn’t fall for it.

Aedan_275

After escaping that part of the fade, I met Niall who was trying to save the circle when he was always trapped by the sloth demon. He had lost hope of escaping, unlike me.

Aedan_276

After lots of weirdness (I had to learn how to change forms…become a mouse, and a spirit, and a ball of fire)…it was really exhausting. I saved Morrigan from a demon disguised as her mother.

Aedan_277

And Alistair from his dream of having a happy family.

Aedan_282

I helped Wynne escape her nightmare about not being able to save the Circle.

Aedan_286

Ultimately, we defeated the sloth demon.

Aedan_287

Niall had been in the fade too long, and his body was no longer alive, so we couldn’t save him.

I still have about 15 more screenshots until we are all caught up, so I’m going to pause the story here! The next post will come out soon!

2 thoughts on “Dragon Age Origins: Part 4

Leave a Reply

