Places I Want to Visit in Virginia: Luray Caverns

This is the second post in my new series that talks about the places I want to visit once I finally am able to join my husband at our new home in Virginia.

Today’s attraction is about an hour and a half drive from our home.

The Luray Caverns

The Luray caverns were discovered in 1878 by Andrew Campbell, a local tinsmith, when he discovered a limestone sinkhole.

1280px-LurayVA6

“LurayVA6” by I, Abraham. Licensed under CC BY-SA 2.5 via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:LurayVA6.jpg#/media/File:LurayVA6.jpg

The Luray Caverns have guided tours and paved walkways. Some rooms are 10-stories high. There is much to see- pools of water, all white formations, and the Stalacpipe Organ.

800px-Saracen's_Tent,_Luray_Caverns

“Saracen’s Tent, Luray Caverns” by ZeWrestler – Own work. Licensed under CC BY 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Saracen%27s_Tent,_Luray_Caverns.jpg#/media/File:Saracen%27s_Tent,_Luray_Caverns.jpg

Of course, there are a few other activities onsite, such as a garden maze, a cafe, a couple museums, and a gem sluice.

I’ve always wanted to see limestone caverns, so I am very excited to see this attraction. I’ll be sure to post lots of photos when we finally get there (fingers crossed for this fall!).

SONY DSC

By Paulo Ordoveza from Washington, DC (Luray Caverns  Uploaded by AlbertHerring) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

2 thoughts on “Places I Want to Visit in Virginia: Luray Caverns

  1. Pingback: Places I want to Visit in Virginia: Historic Palmyra (Walking Tour) | Crazy Cat Nerd

Leave a Reply

