Dragon Age Origins: Part 2

Caution: Spoilers Ahead! Since DAO was released in 2009, if you wanted to play , you likely already have. However, I will be doing a play by play of the game, so if you haven’t played and want to, and care about spoilers, skip this post.

For Part One of the story, go here: https://catnerd.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/dragon-age-origins-part-1/

Aedan_202

I met Alistar, who had already been recruited for the Grey Wardens by Duncan previously. He’s charismatic, funny and witty, but a bit on the sensitive/dramatic side.

Aedan_203

The other new recruits and myself, led by Alistar, were sent on a mission from Duncan to collect a vial of darkspawn blood to be used in our initiation ritual. While we were out in the wilds, we were supposed to also find the Grey Warden treaties from some ruins.

Aedan_204

While looking for the treaties, we ran into what the other men referred to as a “Witch of the Wilds”, she called herself Morrigan. I was polite even if the other men weren’t. No need for rudeness. She informed us that her mother, Flemeth, had been keeping the treaties safe.

Aedan_205

Morrigan brought us to her mother who, after some negotiations, handed over the treaties.

Aedan_206

I survived the Grey Warden ritual- called The Joining. Jory and Daveth, the other recruits, did not. It was a pretty intense ritual.

Aedan_207

 

I attended the war council where we finalized the plans for the upcoming battle with the darkspawn. Alistar and I were given key roles.

Aedan_208

We were charged with lighting the beacon at the top of the tower when it was time for Teyrn Loghain’s men to charge.

 

Aedan_209

Ahh, there’s a good shot of my face. Handsome, no? Anyway, the tower was unexpectedly covered with darkspawn. We don’t know how they got there, but we had to fight our way to the top.

 

Aedan_210

 

In order to get to the beacon, we had to get passed a really nasty ogre. Not fun. However, all that hard work was for nothing! Loghain betrayed the King and retreated when he was supposed to attack! What a jerk! The battlefield was overrun and everyone died.

 

Aedan_211

 

Except for Alistar and I. Apparently Flemeth took a liking to us and saved us. I woke up (with minimal clothing, oh my!) at Flemeth’s cabin. Morrigan was there to greet me. I appreciated the rescue, but it was a bit creepy waking up half-naked with this woman staring at me.

And now the fate of the world rests on Alistar and I. Good times ahead!

 

2 thoughts on “Dragon Age Origins: Part 2

  1. Man this brings back memories! I really need to replay Origins at some point, but honestly I still haven’t finished Inquisition so who knows if I’d ever have the time and dedication required! Origins was a great game though, I remember being blown away when I first played it.

    -avideogamelife.com

    Like

  2. Like, the other recruits died? Whoa, that is serious!

    Boy, Morrigan’s outfit is pretty intense!

    I totally misread one sentence as, “…get past a really nasty orgy” 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

