Dragon Age Origins: Part 1

I want to play Dragon Age Inquisition, the third installment of the Dragon Age series. However, I never finished Part 1 and haven’t even touched part 2. I also want to play those. Since DA is a very immersive game with lots of story and character relationships, I decided now would be a good time for me to take it up again. It can give me something to look forward to playing after work while I’m eating dinner. Since I lack a dinner companion and access to television, this can act as a sort of substitute.

So, last week, I booted up DA: Origins, which I already own. I see there is now a system of achievements. That wasn’t there when I played before, so that is pretty exciting.

When I played before, I was a female dwarven commoner who took up the warrior class. I wanted to do things a bit differently this time, so I went with a male human noblemen. Since DA has limited classes, I went with warrior again. I love playing mages in paper and pen RPGS, but prefer warriors when I play them on the computer. :::shrug:::

As usual, this character will be good-aligned because that’s what I enjoy the most. My last character was more lawful, so I am playing my new one a bit more chaotic- he does what he thinks is right in his heart. He is also very, very persuasive. His top two stats will be cunning and strength.

Caution: Spoilers Ahead! Since DAO was released in 2009, if you wanted to play , you likely already have. However, I will be doing a play by play of the game, so if you haven’t played and want to, and care about spoilers, skip the rest of this post (and subsequent DAO ones).

Aedan_80

My character is the bald one- Aedan. Hopefully, I’ll have a face shot later. I’m using the auto-screenshot function (which I love! Also a new thing, I believe). Anyway, Aedan is pretty hot, I must say.

The story started out with my father (on the left) and my older brother (not pictured) preparing to leave for battle. I was to stay and watchover Castle Cousland in their absence.

Aedan_81

This is my well-intentioned but often misunderstood dog, Muddles.He was harassing the cook, or so it seemed, he was actually alerting her to the giant rats in the larder.

Aedan_82

I had to seek out my brother to let him know he should leave before my father. On the way there, I ran into my mother and her guests. I’m surprised they didn’t ask why my dog was covered in blood.

Aedan_83

The family said their goodbyes to my brother before he left to lead the Cousland troops to Ostagar.

Aedan_84

In the middle of the night, Arl Howe and his troops seized the castle. I was attacked in my room. I found my mother shortly after on her way to find me.

Aedan_85

We checked on my brother’s wife and son, only to find them dead (monsters!).

Aedan_86

My mother and I decided to fight our way to find my father. I gave my mother an extra axe I had, which she wielded impressively. I can see why I became a warrior. My mother is a badass.

Aedan_87

Ser Gilmore informed us that my father had headed in the direction of the kitchens looking for us.

Aedan_88

My father had been mortally wounded. He begged for me to escape through the secret passage and for Duncan, the Grey Warden who was visiting the castle to assist me. Duncan asked if he could recruit me as a Grey Warden to fight the Blight. I agreed. My mother refused to leave my father. I told you she was pretty amazing.

Aedan_201

After some very sad goodbyes, I was brought to Ostagard where I met King Cailan.

5 thoughts on “Dragon Age Origins: Part 1

  1. I love that you give spoiler warnings =D I won’t be playing this game in the future, so I’m excited to read about your adventures!

    I think your dog will be my favorite character 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dragon Age Origins: Part 2 | Crazy Cat Nerd
  3. Pingback: Dragon Age Origins: Part 3 | Crazy Cat Nerd
  4. Pingback: Dragon Age Origins: Part 4 | Crazy Cat Nerd
  5. Pingback: Dragon Age Origins: Part 5 | Crazy Cat Nerd

Leave a Reply

