Quick Review: Redshirt

140119094207

“Redshirt” is a comedy science-fiction game published by the indie company Tiniest Shark, which is frankly an amazing company name. The game is classified on Steam as “Indie, RPG, Simulation, Strategy” and can be purchased for $19.99.

Steam Store Description:

“Redshirt is the comedy sci-fi sim about social networking aboard a space station, starring the station’s most ambitious low-ranking peon: you! Navigate the professional and interpersonal politics of the ubiquitous “Spacebook” to curry favor among friends and colleagues.”

The Upside: “Redshirt” is definitely cute, mildly humorous (not laugh-out-loud, but it’ll make you smile), and unique. I can honestly say I’ve never played another game like it, and that is the reason I play indie games, to get a unique experience. For me, it was entertaining and fairly addictive during my first run through. They clearly put a lot of thought into the systems, and there is much to explore.

Cate140119094223

The Downside: The graphics could be a bit more interesting…they are fine, but fairly stagnant. It’s really a text-based game. It’s not action-packed, or super-exciting. I could see some people getting bored with it quickly, I didn’t, but I don’t mind story-driven games or lots of reading. It’s too short (though it definitely has replay value), and it was very easy to win on my first try. If you like a challenge, this isn’t the game for you. Also, I feel $19.99 is a little steep for what you get.

Cate140119094237

Catnerd’s Recommendation: The game is exactly what it says…you play the entire game in a satirical version of Facebook set in the future. If that sounds appealing to you, I recommend it. If it sounds boring to you, don’t buy it. It’s pretty black and white with this game, no hidden gem here. I’d also recommend waiting for a sale. Despite the downsides, I enjoyed the game and was taken by its unique mechanics and premise. I look forward to what Tiniest Shark puts forth in the future.

Zero to Hero Assignment #3: The third assignment was to write a post that you have been meaning to write. Since my blog has been around for a while, I went with the alternative option to write a post that has been on my mind since I started Zero to Hero, instead of writing the post I had in mind when I started my blog.

One thought on “Quick Review: Redshirt

Leave a Reply

