Along Came a Spider

I just finished reading Along Came a Spider, the first novel in the James Patterson series about Alex Cross, a forensic psychologist. It was first published in 1993, and has led to 18 sequels and a movie.

I normally do not read modern day crime novels. I’m not certain why- I certainly love modern crime/law/mystery genre in games and in television. With books, I’ve always turned to classic detective stories such as Sherlock or Poirot. However, I decided to try out newer crime fiction for my Mystery Reading Challenge.

I wasn’t particularly impressed with this book. The plot was often a bit predictable, the crime wasn’t all that interesting, and the writing is just okay. Frankly, I’m not sure why it became so popular. Don’t get me wrong, it was enjoyable enough and an easy read. I just expected more given it’s popularity, and all I got was a standard crime novel. If you like this genre, it’s definitely worth the read. If you are like me and don’t normally read modern day crime novels than I’d recommend borrowing it from your local library (like I did), if you are in need of something.

I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

