Wake-up Calls

11am…

How is it already 11am? :::grumbles::: I slept in this morning. I woke up at 5am, naturally, but given I didn’t go to bed until 1am, I decided it would be in my best interest to go back to sleep. I re-awoke just after 7am. I was contemplating getting up when Miss Melody paid me a visit. Just a quick “hello, it’s morning, mom!” by pouncing on my chest (which I don’t mind since she hardly weighs anything), kneading the blanket for a bit, purring and hopping back down. Next, Miles paid me a visit. I was so thrilled to see him not hiding in the basement (remember, we have a dog visitor!), that I let him keep me in bed for 15 or so extra minutes, snuggling. Then, Miss Melody visited again, accompanied by Mama Meredith…and I knew they were telling me it was time to get up. By 8:30, I was showered, dressed and feeding the cats.

But then Jimmy got up, followed by Tad & Ellie…and the rest of my morning has been filled with cat-dog spacial management. It requires some logistics to ensure the cat/dog/people don’t cross paths in such away to prompt incident. We’ve had a few puffy tails, but thus far things have gone very well. Miles and Fred are doing SO well. I told Miles that I’m certain Santa will put extra goodies in his stocking this year because he is being SUCH a good boy.

GASP. OH MY GOD. I’M DYING. The boys are out, so of course the dog is sitting next to me (eyeroll) and she just passed gas something awful. How does she smell so much? I’m a biologist, so I’ve encountered a lot of unpleasant smells in my day…I’d rank this dog worse then fish stomachs, biosolids, temid, and Miss Melody’s stinky butt.

ANYWAY….things are going well…some growling did happen a few minutes ago when the dog decided it’d be a good idea to attempt to cuddle with Lefty on the recliner…Lefty has personal space issues. My laptop is also getting the short end of the stick as the dog likes to jump on my lap without warning…scratching the laptop with her nails….and slobbering all over the keyboard and mouse.

More updates and photos to appear throughout the day!

 

Leave a Reply

