Ben Franklin Virtue #2: Silence

See my introduction post on this challenge for more information.

Recap on Last Week:

Virtue #1: Temperance- moderation in action, thought or feeling; most commonly thought of as moderation in food and alcohol; which is what Franklin was supposedly referring to. 

Honestly, I didn’t do as good of a job as I’d like to have remembering this challenge. I should write down the virtue somewhere that I will see it often. Regardless, I think I did well practicing moderation. The only exception would be a couple days that I over-indulged in soda. I’d give myself a 5/7 for this week.

This Week:

Virtue #2: Silence- absence of any sound or noise, stillness

Franklin Quotes: “Speak ill of no man, but speak all the good you know of everybody” “Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself. Avoid trifling conversation.”

Where I Stand: Temperance may have been fairly easy for me…but silence? Good lord, man. I dropped out of nursery school because I was constantly in the corner since I had a problem not talking. If I don’t know you well, then I’m quite silent…but once I’m comfortable…I don’t shut up. I also  have a problem listening in a conversation, and I frequently interrupt. I think this is one of my greatest flaws. I also speak too quickly, and I never think before I speak.

Plans for Improvement:  Baby steps. I don’t think this behavior is something I can wrangle in easily. For most of it is done without thinking. However, this week I will try to keep it in mind….and I’ll work towards not interrupting people. I’m certain I will screw up many times this week, but at least I can try to become more aware of it.

Leave a Reply

