Food Nerd: Cookbook Review- Cooking Light Mix & Match Low-Calorie cookbook

I’m counting my love of food as a nerdy pastime, since I take it to the level of nerdom. I definitely have what you’d refer to as a collection of cookbooks…and I love getting new cookbooks, particularly ones that discuss the origins or history of the food at length, or ones that have particular themes.  

Cookbook Review

Cooking Light’s Mix & Match Low Calorie cookbook

Cooking Light Mix & Match Low-Calorie Cookbook: 1,500 Calories a Day

The Idea: This cookbook provides 4 categories of recipes- breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks. The idea is you can pick one from each, plus an extra from “snack”, and your total calories for the day will be less than 1500. They give you options for increasing these portions, if you require more than 1500 a day.

What I Love: They give you an entire meal….not just a single dish. They will give you a recipe for chicken, but tell you to combine that with couscous and green beans, for instance, and that is factored into the calorie total. The recipes span a wide variety…from quick recipes, to more time consuming ones, from healthy ones you can eat bigger portions of, to normal chocolate chip cookies you need to eat sparingly. The meals are things your whole family will enjoy- even those not trying to watch their weight.

Recipes I have made:  I have made 11 recipes thus far, and I have enjoyed 11 of them! And Jimmy has enjoyed all the ones I’ve shared with him! AMAZING. I’ve never owned a cookbook with this good of a track record. I hope it keeps it up!

Since I’ve start intermingling recipes, my weight has been going steadily down. I’m not evening following their plan yet. I’m simply replacing a few recipes each week with ones from the book. I’m up to 6 recipes a week.

Rating: I give this a 5 of 5. Seriously, favorite cookbook so far (well, for practical every day use).

Example Recipe:

Indian-Spiced Roasted Nuts

1.5 tsp brown sugar

1.5 tsp honey

1 tsp canola

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp cardamom

1/8 tsp cloves

dash of black pepper

1/4 c. almonds

1/4 c. cashews

1/4 c. hazelnuts

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Combine first 8 ingredients in microwave safe bowl, and microwave on high for ~30 seconds or so. Stir.

3. Add nuts, toss to coat.

4. Spread evenly on baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes until golden.

Note: The above is not word for word, fyi…’cause I’m lazy. 🙂

The above recipe is delicious. I didn’t have hazelnuts, so I used almonds and cashews…and just a bit more of each. I liked it, friends liked it, significant other liked it. WIN. The above recipe is 6 servings @ 120 cals each. They also suggest adding in a dash of cayenne pepper for a kick.

Leave a Reply

